Advice and answers from the Airmail Team

To intentionally use the “Delete” key to delete a message and move it to the “Trash” folder, go to Preferences > Actions > and set the Backspace field as 'Move to Trash' or as any of your desired action as indicated in the screenshot below: 

Did this answer your question?